Google Code Jam 2020-experience and problem discussion

Kavit (zenwraight)
3 min readApr 6, 2020

Google Code Jam is an international programming competition hosted and administered by Google. The competition began in 2003. The competition consists of a set of algorithmic problems which must be solved in a fixed amount of time. Competitors may use any programming language and development environment to obtain their solutions.

This years Google Code Jam started on April 3, 2020, 23:00 UTC and ended on April 25, 2020, 02:00 UTC. So one has 27 hours to get a minimum score of 30 (this year they increased it to 30), in order to qualify for next round.

I didn’t realize that it was this weekend. As usual I was working till late on Friday night and then later on one of my close friends recommended a Hindi series Special Ops on Hotstar (a streaming service), so I plugged in and binge watched it for the whole night. Ofcourse I was having a beer along with it as well 😍. In short, I slept very late that night, which means I got up very late on Saturday morning.

Sorry for diverting from the topic, coming to the point, I got reminded by Google that there is a code jam competition happening this weekend and it has already started. I quickly logged into my account and saw I only have 6 hours left and I need 30 points to qualify. I took a deep breadth, a paper, a pen and started working on the problems.

--

--